Glitch of the Week: God of War II

10 05 2009

We come now, in the early hours of the Lord’s day, to the main reason I started this blog.

I call this segment the Glitch of the Week!

Basically, once a week, I give an outlined detail of one of my more ridiculous video game glitches. There’s only one game I’ve ever completed glitch free: .hack//infection, and if I DID have a glitch, how was I supposed to NOTICE?!

This week, I tackle one of my personal favorite glitches from God of War II.

Near of the begining of the story, Kratos encounters a titan named Typhon, who blasts him with wind in an attempt to kill Kratos, the one man who wants to help the Titans. retarded? Yep. Fun? You bet.

This is the face that says 'Don't help me escape jail, I deserve to be imprisoned for no reason, now watch as I fight you for trying to rescue me, because I was wrongfully put here. Breeze blowing son-of-Gaia.'

This is the face that says 'Don't help me escape jail, I deserve to be imprisoned for no reason, now watch as I fight you for trying to rescue me, because I was wrongfully put here. Breeze blowing son-of-Gaia.'

Speaking of Gaia, this means Gaia, mother earth, sent Kratos to go gouge out her son’s eye without even giving the guy a phone call. Thanks mom. You know what Mother Earth gets for Mother’s day? Eco terrorism. Captain Planet can eat it when mommy sends some greek dude to pop out something you need to see. Deforestation, here I come.

Anyhow, when fighting him, you avoid his breath, because he’s a bigger blowhard than Al Gore. (zing!) Just kidding. Al Gore is still the bigger windbag. However, eventually you get the opportunity to tear out his eye and claim the bow hidden within. Why is there a bow in his eye? I’m putting MY bets that he came home from the prom with a fire Nymph and mommy found out. Tree-covered bag probably put it there just to spite poor Typhon.

Mother of the year? Maybe not. World's biggest bonfire? Call the colleges and order the kegs, it's about to get real.

Mother of the year? Maybe not. World's biggest bonfire? Call the colleges and order the kegs, it's about to get real.

Well, long and short of it, you’re supposed to tear out the bow and mercilessly wail on Typhon for a bit, but my game wouldn’t allow it. Luckily, I wasn’t the only one who encountered the glitch.

Skip to about 3:30 to see the travesty in action. Thanks to NextGen Walkthroughs for the vid.

In addition, after stabbing the air like a merciless fusion of Shaquille O’Neal and OJ Simpson, my Kratos fell back to earth, heavily damaged and surrounded my bats. Terribly annoying, but very fun to watch!

Well, that’s it for this installment of Glitch of the Week. Make sure to tune in next week. I’ve been playing Braid like crazy and already found a glitch less than halfway through.

Until then readers. -GG

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

